Houston Uninsured Motorist

Each year in Texas, thousands of people are in car accidents involving an uninsured motorist.

 

The law requires all drivers to have auto insurance.

The minimum requirement of liability insurance in Texas is as follows:

  • $30,000/person for bodily injury
  • $60,000/accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000/accident for property

If you have been in an accident with a driver who does not have insurance, report it immediately. Many insurance companies require an accident report to be filed within 24 hours of the accident.

Uninsured Motorist Accidents

An uninsured motorist is a person that continues to drive but does not maintain insurance on their vehicle. There are thousands of uninsured motorists in Texas. An uninsured motorist is at risk of losing their license but there is not currently an effective program to make a person maintain insurance on their vehicle.

If you are involved in an auto accident with an uninsured driver, your claim for vehicle damage and medical bills is filed with your insurance company. This is referred to as an uninsured motorist claim.

If you have an auto liability policy you should also have uninsured motorist coverage. This type of coverage compensates you and your passengers for injuries you sustain as a result of a car accident involving an unisured motorist. It also compensates you if you’re involved in an accident with a vehicle that can’t be identified, such as in a hit-and-run accident. If you are involved in either type of accident, you need to report it immediately. Many insurance companies require a report to be filed within 24 hours of the accident.

How Can RJ Alexander Law, PLLC Help?

If you or a family member has been injured by a driver who does not have insurance, contact RJ Alexander Law, PLLC to schedule a free consultation. We focus our law practice exclusively on handling accident injury cases. With more than six years of experience, no case is too complex for attorney Reshard Alexander. Our goal is to secure maximum financial compensation for your physical and emotional recovery.

Call us at (832) 458-1756 or fill out our online contact form.